Dom Starsia

I am sitting here at my desk, watching the first snowfall of the season, having just returned last evening from the 2017 USILA/IMLCA meetings. Two things came together for me on the extended rush hour drive home: I was humbled and honored to have received the Frenchy Julien Award for Service at the Nike luncheon and chuckled every time I ran in to an old friend who did a recognition double-take with my new bearded look. The last time this happened was in 1999, after that team shaved off a bushy mustache I had been sporting for the previous 25 years.

Here is how a service award and facial hair became related to a consideration of our coaching lives.

If I was giving my acceptance remarks today, I would begin with: “To all the young coaches in attendance.” The narrative would go on to recall how I always came away from these meetings so excited about the start of the season. I can easily remember being so consumed by the pursuit of winning, the championships, the gold ring… and there is nothing wrong with that. You can pursue success while still being primarily concerned with the quality of your influence. You need to remain vigilant, but it can be done. Fair or not, however, winning enriches the relationships among the participants while remaining a professional requirement. To have a fulfilling career in college coaching, you need to find a formula for success.